CMMS software for Facility Managers

Hey guys, just looking to get some feedback regarding the CMMS software used at your sites. What do you use? Do you even need one? when should you consider one? How has using one improved your workflow and processes? What to consider when looking for a CMMS software.

Some background on me - I am a Facility Manager at a not-for-profit in the Bronx. I run a small team of 3 maintenance workers. Looking for software to help automate processes and provide feedback and data. We currently use a work order management system already. Are there any other applications that can be downloaded and used that may be similar to a CMMS to get an idea if we really need one or not? Thanks for any feedback on this!

Hello small FM from the Bronx, I’m large FM from semiconductor manufacturer. You probably don’t need a CMMS. A lot of the tracking, reports, and admin function is really only needed for ISO compliant organizations or large manufacturing systems. Your three employees won’t keep up enough with the tasks, tracking, and data entry required to make any sort of analytics meaningful. The most common truth to why our metrics are bad on completion times, turnover, etc is that the line guys are understaffed and would rather go do meaningful work to keep the line up than spend 10 mins on paperwork at the end of every shift.

Just use Excel for logging, publish SOP’s as PDF’S on a shared drive folder, and Microsoft Outlook calendars for recurring Maintenance Schedules. Use Google Apps if you don’t pay for Microsoft licenses. If you really need something clandestine, use the freemium CMMS options, most of the big names have a free option with just a few users and basic tracking capability. The CMMS can become a paperwork headache for small crews, and I’ve used several, so until you are in manufacturing and can start linking it to SCADA/MES’ to generate work orders automatically then it’s “Just Another Data Entry Program©”.